HOW DID MISERY BAY GET ITS NAME ?

According to local lore, the earliest settlers—lacking hay—came to the foot of the bay to cut marsh grass for their livestock.

One warm June day in the early 1880’s, a pioneer was cutting marsh grass there when two men approached in a small boat. The boaters shouted, “What is this place called?” Hot, tired, and swatting black flies, the farmer called back, “Misery!”

What the farmer did not realize was that the boaters were government surveyors, mapping the island. The surveyors wrote that name down, and it stuck. So this beautiful spot with its clear water, unique rocks, bountiful wildlife, and lovely wildflowers continues to be known as Misery Bay—a misnomer puzzling to today’s visitors.

Disclaimer

 Trails are open all year. Use them at your own risk. The Visitors Centre building facilities are open during the summer months at the hours shown below.

In 2017 the Visitors Centre will be staffed and open on Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays from Victoria Day weekend through Thanksgiving , 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM, and daily during July and August.

 

Contact Us

400 Misery Bay Park Road
PO Box 114
Gore Bay, ON P0P 1H0
CANADA

email address: infoATmiserybay.ca
(remove the AT & insert the proper @ symbol)

Ontario Parks

CoalaWeb Traffic

Today12
Yesterday74
This week159
This month1666
Total23551

Visitor Info

  • IP: 107.22.6.52
  • Browser: Unknown
  • Browser Version:
  • Operating System: Unknown

Who Is Online

1
Online

2017-08-23